Skip to content

Strange Dream Shift

April 7, 2010

A burning building. The man stood next to me is built like Vince Vaughn. When the heat of the blaze reached our feet I heard a boy’s cry. My instinct dictated that I run into the flames
and save him, but the man put his hand on my shoulder in restraint. I shook him off and lunged through the fire. My movements were swift and seemed to defy time. In seconds, I was back outside where the man stood, his arms crossed, head shaking.

“You did this?” I said.

“We did,” he responded. “Don’t you remember?”

“As a matter of fact I don’t.” But when he said the word “we” I knew he was telling the truth. It was my guilt that sent me inside the burning building.

The sound of sirens were heard in the distance.

“We need to get out of here,” said the man. He grabbed my arm and pulled hard. I held the sobbing boy in my arms as we ran through dark streets. When we cleared the surrounding area, I examined the child. His skin had blackened on the surface. Underneath the damaged epidermis I could see red scars forming. His hair was gone and thick gray smoke was lifting from his head. I pressed him closer to me and covered him with my coat. The man kept glancing back at me, worry and desperation on his criminal face. I traveled at my own pace, concerned only for the boy’s safety.

Dream shift.

Somewhere in between my waking life and dream world a dream figure asked, “What does it feel like to be here with me while asleep in some other world? Can you feel it when I touch you?”

Was I awake? I was in my bed. I lifted the blanket away from my legs and said, “Yes, I can feel it when you touch me. This is my physical body (felt a slight pinch on my ankle), but it’s my mind that lets me perceive you and feel the contact between us.

Was this another dream? Or was I in a place between different states of consciousness?

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

