Skip to content

Myself When I Am Real

March 30, 2010

It’s fascinating how memory works. I thought I had remembered every dream from last night. Alas, another dream memory was triggered. I’m listening to Mingus on Piano, specifically the first track, Myself When I Am Real. As soon as it starts I perceive a vision of a handsome stranger playing my piano.
He’s playing this song, not missing a single beat and it sends shivers through me.

I watched as his hands scattered over the keys, his head swaying side to side, eyes closed. I know who he is. I’ve played piano with him before.

His eyes are green. His scent is distinct and delicious, like pastels, charcoal and chocolate.

I searched for sheet music in my room. I found Bach, U2, Elton John and a few of my own. I took them to him and he played what I liked. I made tea. I sat next to him and we played together. I was completely drawn to him.

I shifted into another dream sequence with an intense longing.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 10:22 pm

    Oh Wendy — why have I not found you til now. I love the way you write. You just just take us right along with you into your dream. Nice!

    • barriesgirl permalink*
      March 31, 2010 4:01 pm

      Bobbie Ann,
      Thanks so much for the kind words.

Leave a Reply

