Skip to content

A Village in Eastern Europe

March 17, 2010

I was staying with a family who lived in a small village located somewhere in Eastern Europe. They hired me to plan their daughter’s wedding. One night after I finished the final decorative touches to the reception hall, the father came to me. He said that after many months of living with them, I was considered family. He spoke in a husky Slavic language I understood, but could not speak. He guided me out into the snow and told me to remove my shoes. He led us to a fire where the whole family was waiting. Darkness was everywhere. He pointed to the path before me. It was covered in snow and dirt, with large spear-like objects sticking out through the dirt.

I understood that I had to cross the entire half mile of pointed spears in my bare feet. Even though lucidity began very early in the dream, I looked at the sharp end of those spears and hesitated.

“You are strong,” he said. “You will succeed because you are family.”

The first few paces were easy. I cheated and stepped around each spear, still concerned about my physical body and its threshold for pain. I focused and took swift breaths as I moved forward, allowing the spear to pierce my heels. The sting was only slight. I continued, gradually maintaining a balance between mental and physical awareness. I felt brave when I looked down and observed the ease in which the razor-sharp point tore at the flesh. One foot after the other I reached the end of the passage. The family was there, huddled together with smiles on their faces.

Initiation was over. I was a member of the family. They held me for awhile and whispered prayers to me. For the rest of the dream we feasted by a warm fire. I looked at my feet under firelight. There was a tiny scar. I ran my fingertip over it, amazed by the level of detail.

The fire glowed into the hours of darkness.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

